How I Started My Tech Journey

How I Started My Tech Journey

Introduction

I never knew I was going to be a Front End Developer. Growing up I wanted to be a Medical Doctor because I fell in love with Grey's Anatomy as a teenager but well life happens and I ended up studying Agricultural Economics in the university.I have no regrets studying it though as I loved both Agriculture and Economics in high school, but venturing into Tech I never saw it coming but I am glad I did.

How The Journey Started

In 2018 During My National Youth Service Corps in Abuja,Nigeria My sister, who is a User Interface Designer called me and told me about coding and she felt it would be something I would be interested in , well I started browsing about it because I always thought coding was for computer science graduate and I stumbled upon Django Girls,Abuja a non-governmental organization that encouraged women to learn how to code.well I applied and I was selected to attend a two day workshop that opened my eyes to the world of software development. I went home and was stirred up to take this career path, I started learning with Free Code Camp,W3 Schools and Youtube videos. I attended meet ups during weekends though I was lost most of the times but I kept attending. When I faced an issue during coding I reached out to my coaches from Django Girls Abuja and also googled it.

In 2019 I moved to Lagos,Nigeria and decided I had to pursue this Software Development Career Path.I researched and found out the different paths in tech and I decided I was going to be a Front-End Developer.I attended Stutern Graduate Accelerator Program which sharpen my career path.

How The Journey Is Going

The Journey has not been all that rosy ,I have been faced with imposter syndrome and still dealing with it,I felt like I was not progressing, but I am proud of how far I have come.I landed my first Front-End Development Job this year despite the pandemic well that was a big win for me.

Conclusion

Despite the highs and lows I have experienced in my Journey,I am glad I ventured into tech.Being able to bring my ideas to life is awesome.I plan to become good at my craft through continuous learning and consistency.